Nona Shula’s Chocolate Cake

Chocolate, Dessert

Mati,

I can’t wait to try those stuffed tomatoes! It is something I have always wanted to make.

Tonight I had my dad and my sister over for dinner. Two weekends ago, I had an unsuccessful kitchen experience where everything that I cooked did not come out right. So, I have been trying to redeem myself by trying new recipes as well as perfecting old ones.Β  Today I made chicken stir fry with red curry sauce and chocolate cake for desert. They came out absolutely divine.

Recipes:

Nona Shula’s Chocolate Cake

Now,Β  I have tried this recipe quite a few times but today it was the best ever, kinda thanks to you! It is really easy as it has three steps.
Preheat the oven to 350F

#1
1 1/4 cups of sugar
1/2 cup of margarine/butter
2 eggs

#2
1 cup of cold water (I used 1 cup of hot coffee instead)–Made a huge difference
1/2 cup of cocoa powder
1 tsp of vanilla essence

#3
1 1/2 cups of flour
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

Grease a baking sheet of your choice (I used round).

Mix the ingredients in step #1 for about 5 minutes using a mixer (you can also do it by hand).
Lower the speed and add the ingredients in step #2 and mix for about 1 minute.
Add the ingredients in step #3 and mix for another minute.
Place in the oven and bake for about 50-60 minutes or until knife comes out clean.
** I also added caramelized almonds to the mixture to give it a crunchy feeling.

Enjoy!

Nona's Chocolate Cake

10 thoughts on “Nona Shula’s Chocolate Cake

  1. I cannot tell you how excited I am to have yet ANOTHER wonderful food blog to follow πŸ™‚ I will immediately add you to my list of favorites… cause you are!

    I miss both of you lots & hope you are doing extremely well. I can’t wait to try all of your new recipes.

    Love & Kisses- Nichole

  2. Francine and Matina!

    I had been telling Matina several times that one day I will start cooking the recipes on your blog. Well, I actually did that on Saturday and I started with this chocolate cake! I have to say it was a complete success. I received a lot of complement. Thanks for the recipe!
    I have to add that I was adventurous enough to try some changes; reduced 1/4 Cup of the sugar, instead of cocoa powder I melted and added 125 gr. of plain chocolate and instead of water I added milk.

    I was very happy on Saturday and I’m looking forward to cook more or your recipes.

    Un abrazo!
    Alejandro

    1. Alejandro! Welcome to our blog and we both hope that you will continue to cook from our blog as well as from others and explore the culinary world. You made some interesting changes (and brave!) to the recipe. I will try it next time I make this cake. You should also try coffee instead of water as the chocolate flavor will be much more rich. Another tip I have heard of is to use agave instead of sugar….healthier.

    1. no, no agave… coffee!! I melted the chocolate in the hot coffee and then added it to the cake yummmmmmmmmmmmmm!! Next time i will use bananas instead of butter… mmmm already dreaming about it!!

      1. Yum yum. I will try adding chocolate chunks next time around. I am happy that you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

      2. I was actually really tempted to swirl in some dulce de leche… as a finishing touch… but then i don’t have that much left and prefer it for my coffee πŸ˜‰ but you can never go wrong with chocolate chunks!!

Leave a Reply

