Quinoa Delight

Latin American, Side Dish, Vegetarian

Hi Matirulis!!!

Sounds like you had a great weekend! I can’t wait to make sushi. It is something that I have wanted to do for a long time, to have a sushi making party.  We had a really nice weekend even though it was a little chilly and windy we got to have lots of fun.  We got invited on a boat on Saturday afternoon and as funny as like is, we had just gone down to the beach for the first time in a few weeks, even more than a month, and were enjoying the warm sun when I got a text message from a friend asking me if we wanted to go on a boat.  My life is pretty ridiculous right now… so we jumped and went on a boat all afternoon.  We got to go in and out of the intercostal canals and look at beautiful mansions!  At one point the boat suddenly stopped working for like 15 minutes and we thought our fun was over, but after having the men play around a bit the boat restarted and we continued our journey to a seafood restaurant right on the water.

So about that quinoa.  Someone told me that red quinoa is even better for you than the regular quinoa so I bought it one day while I was shopping at Whole Foods.  Quinoa originated in the Andean region of South America, where it has been an important food for about 6,000 years.  It has a high content of protein so it’s a great addition to vegetarian diets!

As usual, I prepared a recipe from my #1 food magazine, Food & Wine (August 2009) and just added my personal touch.

Ingredients

  1. 1/2 pound sugar snap peas
  2. 1 1/2 cups quinoa, rinsed and drained
  3. 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  4. 3 tablespoons white wine vinegar ( I put white distilled vinegar because I did not have white wine)
  5. Salt and freshly ground pepper
  6. 1/2 cup salted roasted pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds
  7. 1/2 cup minced chives

Directions

Quinoa with Snap peas

  1. In a small saucepan of boiling salted water, simmer the peas until bright green and crisp-tender, about 1 minute. Drain and spread out on a large plate to cool, then pat dry. Cut the peas on the diagonal into 1-inch pieces.
  2. In a small saucepan, combine the quinoa with 2 cups of water and bring to a boil. Cover and cook over low heat until all the water has evaporated and the quinoa is tender, about 15 minutes. Uncover and fluff the quinoa, then transfer to a large bowl and let cool to room temperature.
  3. In a bowl, combine the oil and vinegar and season with salt and pepper. Add the peas to the quinoa with the pumpkin seeds, chives and dressing; stir. Season with salt and pepper and serve at room temperature or lightly chilled.

(Food & Wine, August 2009)

3 thoughts on “Quinoa Delight

  1. Hola Francine & Matina,

    Congratulations on your new blog!!! It looks great. I am in the process of reading all the stuff that you have posted and I will surely be trying many of these recipes. Mucha suerte,

    Ana Maria.

  2. That looks delicious and beautiful! A work of art that you can eat!
    I wish I had the patience and love for cooking that you both have….. I guess we each have our calling in life..
    Yet I do LOVE making dessets. So if you ever need a website reference for yummi desserts this lady has amazing recipies: http://www.joythebaker.com/
    I made the “Peanut Butter Fudge Rice Krispies” and they were finger-licking good!
    ..btw.. if you ever need a guinea person to test your creations.. I volunteer!

Leave a Reply

