Chocoholic’s easiest healthy snackage!

My cherie Franny-frou-frou!

Voulez-vous swap countries for a while? :) My exciting outing for the weekend was to go to London, and thank my lucky stars that I had brought an umbrella with me!! The good thing is that as I get whiter by the second, at least I got to see 2 wonderful people.

I hung out with Meg for most of the day, as we were walking around Covent Garden, one of the stalls in the market was selling these amazing jewelry holders that were shaped like… CUPCAKES and ICE CREAM CONES!!! It is a company called Naive, established by a mother and daughter who make these lovely creations together based on shared experiences! Then once the rain started pouring, I started looking for and finally meeting up with Fah! As you can imagine, I was very happy to see her, even if it was for an hour! Stupid trains!!

After that she left, I had some time to kill before my train left, and I was really hungry for a little something chocolatey, a little something yummy, and I didn’t want all my work at the gym to be scrapped for a silly snack! Finally no luck, all the granola bars I found had as many calories as a brownie… so of course I went for the brownie! On my ride home I thought about all my experiments with home made cereal bars and treats and decided to revisit those and start sharing them with you! (To show you how easy this is: I was taught this recipe when i was 10 or 11 in Brussels, when Zoe and I were are Sophia’s house in the midst of a bake-a-thon with her mom!)

Pitch Black Haystacks!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 125gr Dark chocolate bars (70%-75% cocoa solids) broken into pieces
  • 2 tsp unsalted butter
  • 3 1/2 cups All Bran
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a small sauce pan, gently melt the chocolate and butter. Keep stirring making sure not to burn the chocolate, remove from heat when there are just a couple last small chunks left.
  2. Add the All Bran and most of the chopped nuts, carefully fold mixture making sure to cover all the bran with chocolate, without breaking all of them. {It may seem like you do not have enough chocolate, trust me you do, keep stirring and you will eventually cover the whole quantity.}
  3. On a long piece of foil or wax paper, carefully arrange heaping spoonfuls of the mixture into haystack arrangements. Leave to dry for 20 minutes. (optional: sprinkle on top with remaining nuts)

Chocolate-Peanut Bliss Haystacks

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 1/2 cups All Bran
  • 2 Dark chocolate bars (70%-75% cocoa solids) broken into pieces
  • 1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp powdered sugar

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a small sauce pan, gently melt the chocolate and peanut butter. Keep stirring making sure not to burn the chocolate, remove from heat when there are just a couple last small chunks left.
  2. Add the All Bran, carefully fold mixture making sure to cover all the bran with chocolate.
  3. On a long piece of foil or wax paper, carefully arrange heaping spoonfuls of the mixture into haystack arrangements. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and leave to dry for 20 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Chocoholic’s easiest healthy snackage!

Leave a Reply

