Vanquished the poached egg monster!

FRANCINE!!!

I have extremely exciting news!!! I VANQUISHED THE POACHED EGG MONSTER!!! This is my biggest cooking feat of all time!!

Friday night, while I was on the train home from work, really tired, stressed and cranky, I was playing on my phone, surfing the internet and exploring food blogs. I ran into a wonderful blog, Smitten Kitchen, which featured many many amazingly delicious recipes. While Deb explained her background and the purpose for having her blog in the “about” section, she wrote : “… tutorials on everything from how to poach an egg to how to make…”. Immediately my mood improved, I had a cooking challenge¬† for brunch!! To make my first successful poached egg and enjoy it for brunch.

A bit of background, …Poached eggs are my arch rival. I have spoiled many dozen eggs in attempts at making poached eggs, gotten in fights with people trying to teach me how to make them. I have tried every method, known to man:

  1. The crazy vortex
  2. The pickle-ing vinegar
  3. Soup laddle in boiling water
  4. Egg-poacher

NOTHING WORKED!! Instead I made an amazing textured egg-drop soup effect, a foamy mess, an egg yolk alone, etc… Thanks to this great tutorial Smittenkitchen: Poached eggs (it is amazing) I finally made my poached egg!!

ps: No one ever thought to mention to me that I wasn’t meant to boil the water!!! Smitten Kitchen you are my hero!

So Fran, I just wanted to share with you my victory and excitment!! :) I’ll be back a little later with a treat for your eyes and my stommy!!

6 thoughts on “Vanquished the poached egg monster!

  1. Nichole Persing

    smitten kitchen is my absolute favorite! Have you seen the amazing rice pudding on today’s post? and the baby pictures?!? how will I ever get any work done (?!?!) when I want to gobble them both up. to pieces. right. now. The egg looks amazing & now I hungry for that toooo! Can you tell what I would rather be doing right now? ;)

    Reply
  2. matinaki28 Post author

    I KNOW I LOVE HER BLOG!!! and baby… SO CUTE! I have become a subscriber of hers because all her recipes are just soooooo yummy!! :) … and lets be serious, whoever taught me how to make poached eggs, immediately became my hero! … and about work, just cook up a storm and all your worries will go away!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Feta And Arepa · Spinach Soups with Poached Egg

Leave a Reply

