Chocolate-Chocolate Delight!

Hi Mati,

As you and our readers can probably already tell, I am a big fan of Chocolate.  If I have to choose between an apple pie and a chocolaty dessert….. You guessed right, I would choose the chocolate dessert.  This weekend I made the most professional dessert I have made until today. It looked professional and tasted absolutely professionally delicious.  A few weeks ago, I got introduced to the SmittenKitchen blog.  She is one of my new cooking/kitchen heroines.  Everything about her blog is something to look up to! Anyways so I have bookmarked a few chocolate desserts from her blog and I plan on conquering one at a time.  This past weekend I conquered the Double Chocolate Torte.   I still have some left in my fridge and I savor it all day long and wait until after dinner so that I can have my share of the day.  Don’t tell A, but I barely want to share it with him because I want it all for myself!

So after thinking about it, it is not a complicated recipe, it just has a lot of ingredients and a few steps.  It is not the healthiest recipe in theworld, but we can sometimes indulge right?  I made it with whole wheat flour to make me feel better. In retrospect, I would add less sugar next time just because it might be a bit too much.  I had to make mine non-dairy because we were having meat for dinner so here is my adaptation to her adaptation from Bon Appetit, December 2000.  I am also in the search for a great ingredient substitution list. I found one day that might work. Check it out: http://www.cookingforengineers.com/article/52/Ingredient-Substitutions

OK here is the recipe:

Double Chocolate Torte

Ingredients

Cake

8 ounces bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, chopped
1 cup unsalted margarine
1 cup sugar
5 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup whole wheat  flour

Mousse
1/2 cup unsalted margarine, cut into pieces
4 large eggs, separated
1 cup non-dairy whipping cream
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
8 ounces bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup plus 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar

2 cups fresh raspberries
2 tablespoons red currant jelly melted with 1 tablespoon water (optional)
Red currant bunches (optional)

For cake: Preheat oven to 325°F. Grease a 10-inch-diameter springform pan and place parchment paper or wax paper on the bottom so that you can transfer the cake easier later; dust with sugar. Melt chocolate and margarine in heavy large saucepan over low heat, stirring constantly. Cool to lukewarm. Whisk in sugar. Whisk in eggs 1 at a time, blending well after each addition. Mix in vanilla and salt, then flour. Pour batter into pan. Bake until cake just rises in center (tester inserted into center will not come out clean), about 35 minutes. Cool completely in pan on rack. Cover and chill while making mousse.

For mousse: Melt margarine in medium metal bowl set over saucepan of simmering water (do not allow bottom of bowl to touch water). Whisk yolks, 1/4 cup cream and vanilla in small bowl to blend. Gradually whisk yolk mixture into bowl with melted margarine. Whisk constantly over simmering water until thermometer registers 150°F, about 6 minutes (mixture may appear broken). Remove from over water; add chocolate and stir to melt. Set aside.

Beat egg whites and 1/2 cup sugar in large bowl to medium-stiff peaks. Whisk 1/4 of beaten egg white mixture into warm chocolate mixture to lighten. Fold in remaining egg white mixture. Pour mousse over cake in pan; smooth top. Chill torte until mousse is set, at least 6 hours and up to 1 day.  I did not have 6 hours or a day to let the mousse set so I just put it in the freezer for about one hour checking it every 20 minutes to make sure it did not freeze.

Run sharp knife around edge of pan to loosen torte. Release pan sides. Transfer torte to platter. Using electric mixer, beat 3/4 cup cream in medium bowl until peaks form. Spread whipped cream over torte. Top whipped cream with raspberries. Optional : Brush red currant jelly mixture over raspberries. Sprinkle with 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar. Garnish with currants, if desired.

Voilà

Double Chocolate Torte

Side View- Can you see the layers?

Also, our cousins invited us to have brunch at The Biltmore Hotel this weekend and it was a feast! You would have loved it!  Take a look at the pictures

What have you been cooking lately?

Pretty Desserts

A view from the brunch courtyard

Colored Sugar

2 thoughts on “Chocolate-Chocolate Delight!

  1. matinaki28

    OMG!! When will they make a screen you can reach into and devour everything you see!! YUMMY FRAN!! Looks super pretty with the raspberries :) WELL DONE!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Flourless Chocolate Chocolate Meringue Cake « Feta and Arepa

Leave a Reply

