Salty Yet Oh So Sweet Coleslaw

Matirulis,

I hope that you are keeping warm because if it was cold (45F)in Miami this morning, it must be freezing in the UK. Here is the coleslaw recipe that I have be telling you about.

I am not a big fan or the typical coleslaw. Sometimes people put too much mayo, sometimes too little, it just seems like they cannot get it right.  Actually, I really like the one you used to make at Clark which had no mayo, just lemon and olive oil!  It is really good in the summer time when you want some crunchy freshness!

A few years ago, my mom gave me this coleslaw recipe which has an Asian twist to it. It is really good…. I mean if you add soy sauce to anything it is always going to taste delicious. I have been making coleslaw a lot lately since I discovered the shredder blade in the Cuisinart, it just makes it SO much easier. You shred the vegetables, you dress, you eat… how much more simple could it be?

Ingredients

3/4 of white cabbage head shredded
4  shredded carrots
1/4 red onion shredded or thinly sliced
2-3 chopped green onions
Lots of chopped fresh cilantro
Rice noodles, rice sticks, or bean sprouts

Dressing
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1tbs sesame oil
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup white vinegar
Tabasco, to taste
Juice of 1 lemon/lime
2.5 tbs of sugar or honey
1 or 2 garlics minced and toasted
Peanuts (optional)

Directions

Asian Coleslaw

1. Shred and cut the vegetables and place in a large bowl.

2. Mix the ingredients for the dressing in a small bowl.

3. Add dressing to the salad and garnish with peanuts and cilantro.

4. Enjoy!

Tomorrow we are having our first Shabbat dinner at our place with the family. It is my mom’s birthday and my in-laws are in town.  Sunday I run my half marathon…. so I am loading up on carbs  :)!

Hope you are having a fantastic week!

PS. I am displaying my coleslaw in one of the new dishes that I got yesterday to improve the presence and quality of my pictures…

8 thoughts on “Salty Yet Oh So Sweet Coleslaw

  1. Fah

    This looks great! I’ve been thinking about coleslaw lately. Do you think could use a mandoline for the cabbage?

    Reply
    1. fsafdeye Post author

      Fah I think that you could use a mandoline….. cooking is all about not being afraid to try. Try it and then post a comment to let us all know!

      Reply
  2. fsafdeye Post author

    It is spectacular right? I can eat a whole bowl all by myself! I have some yumminess cooking…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Greek Salad Madness: Lemon Zippy Laxanosalata « Feta and Arepa

  4. Pingback: Feta And Arepa · Asian Fusion Greek Pool Party

Leave a Reply

