3-minutes between you and pure green Choy!

asian, Main Course, Salad, Side Dish, Stir Fry, Vegetarian

Hi Fran,

So, its been quite a while since I last posted any recipes of consequence. Fortunately, I have been cooking all kinds of things, but over the last two weeks I had been working so many hours, in the office and at home, that I didn’t have the time to post! But now I am back, and super excited to share a bunch of things with you.

Firstly, congratulations again on your accomplishment! Next time maybe we should run a full one together… so we have to meet up in the next decade 😉 Secondly, my magic potions did the trick yet again! They helped me avoid getting sick!

On another note, I don’t think that I have told you this, yet, but right by the apartment here in Oxford, there is a little Asian supermarket. You know very well what that means… AMAZING!! It is a wonderland of spices, sauces and noodles, among other things. So this recipe is in the spirit of my past two weeks(timewise) and also my exploration of ingredients this shop. I really love bok choy (or pak choi), especially the tender baby bok choy, but had never cooked it myself. Thanks to this man, Martin Yan, I was in bok choy bliss in 3 minutes! This recipe is really simple as could be, and sooo yummy as a side dish for 4 (or in my case as a main course for 1)

3-Minute Bok Choy Bliss

INGREDIENTS:

Sauce:

  • 1/3 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 tablespoons dry sherry (I used rice wine vinegar)
  • 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon black bean garlic sauce (do not subsitute for hoisin… no good! Trust me)
  • 1/4 teaspoon white pepper (I prefer black pepper, not a huge fan of the taste of white pepper)

Bok Choy:

  • 1 lb / 500 gr baby bok choy
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine the sauce ingredients in a small bowl; stir to dissolve cornstarch.
  2. Quarter each bok choy lengthwise. Rinse in cold water to loosen any dirt between leaves.
  3. Place a stir-fry pan over high heat until hot. Add oil, swirling to coat sides. Add garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 10 seconds.
  4. Add bok choy; stir-fry, until tender-crisp, 1 1/2 to 2 minutes. Add sauce and cook, stirring, until the sauce thickens slightly and lightly coats bok choy, about 30 seconds.
  5. Arrange on serving plate and serve.

Note: When the bok choy cooks, it decreases to half its original size! Make sure you cook it only until the leaves are wilted, no further to maintain its nice crispness.

YUMM YUMMM YUMMMMMMMM!!!

One thought on “3-minutes between you and pure green Choy!

  1. Yum! I love Bok Choy… My mom puts it in broil in the over and they come out crispy and delicious, especially with some soy sauce on…. salty deliciousness.
    We have an asian store near by that I have been meaning to visit….. maybe this week will be the week

Leave a Reply

