Heart of Palm Ceviche ala Ray

Mati,

Your pictures are absolutely amazing and I cannot wait to try your lentil salad!  I have also been meaning to make one.  I also made your dulce de leche and we had it last night with ice cream and brownies.  YUM YUM!

My camera is in the shop, so pardon my pictures.  I am using A’s old camera and it is not as good, but it serves its purpose in the meantime.  I am obsessed with getting a new camera and have been doing some research on what I will be purchasing.   I had an interesting conversation about cameras with a friend of mine from whom I asked for advice on camera purchasing.  The bottom line is that he said that if I am only concerned about my food blog pictures then a Nikon Coolpix is more than enough…. I am obsessed with making beautiful pictures and I am relying on the camera for that.   The outcome of the conversation was me telling him that maybe the problem then is me and my eyes…. he replied that I should try Lenscrafters….  What I am looking for is to expand and develop my creativity through cooking and photography.   Is that not something a girl can ask for?  That is all that I will complain for today.

Spring has officially arrived (in Miami).  The trees that have been barren for months now display beautiful yellow flowers (and the pollen forecast for your area is VERY HIGH). But how can we not love spring!  The sweet smells of blooming flowers (if you can breathe…), the sun starts to shine and remains shining until 8:00PM, longer days, ice cream, the beach, the list is endless.  Spring is synonymous for renewal and birth.  It is such a beautiful time of year and here in Miami all we want is this weather all year long.  Summers are nice too, but the humidity is a killer so you end up spending more time indoors.  Thankfully the winters are not so bad so you can still enjoy the beach and the outdoors.

Now let’s talk about food.

My aunt Ray is an amazing chef and host!  Her meals are absolutely spectacular every time she invites us over.  Every little detail is thought out, what is being served and how it is being served.  You walk into her house and you know you are about to have an amazing meal.    To be fair, all the women in my family are amazing chefs and hosts so there is no competition, but the reason that I am mentioning Ray here is because she has shared with me lots of tips and recipes that I enjoy playing with.   A few weeks ago we were invited to her house for Shabbat dinner and she had this amazing Heart of  Palm ceviche that I could not get enough of.
It is good and it is pretty.

Ingredients

Salad

  • 2 cans of sweet corn or 1 bag of frozen sweet corn
  • Hearts of Palm
  • 3-4 Diced Tomatoes with no seeds
  • Handful Cilantro
  • Handful Parsley
  • Chili powder
  • Olive Oil

Dressing

  • Ketchup
  • Lemon/Lime
  • Kosher Salt

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°F and place the corn (if frozen, do not wait to defrost) in a baking pan and pour some olive oil on the corn and then sprinkle some chili powder and kosher salt and bake for about 20 minutes.Corn
  2. Dice the the tomatoes, the hearts of palm, the cilantro, and the parsley.Cilantro
  3. Place the vegetables in this order: (do not laugh at my attempt of being creative at how I deliver information)
  4. Chill in the refrigerator until serving time.
  5. Mix the dressing right before serving, and serve cold.

Ideally you serve in a transparent glass container but given the fact that we are still living at the grandparents and we do not have our own ‘stuff’ I was unable to truly display the salad how I wanted, but I tried and I think it was OK.  The most important part was that it was delicious and the company was great!

Heart of Palm Ceviche

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

3 thoughts on “Heart of Palm Ceviche ala Ray

  1. Fah

    Looks amazinggg! I loove these kind of recipes. I’ve done the babaganoush, beetroot salad, tabouleh and hummus now. Looking forward to adding to my repertoire ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

