Coconut Flapjacks

Breakfast, Dessert, Snack, Uncategorized, Vegetarian



Dear Franny,

Your artichoke soup post stirred some strong childhood memories for me too! I remember family dinners when we would sit in our dining room in Belgium eating artichokes. We, however, ate them “he loves, he loves me not”-style, steamed and would start peeling one petal at a time. It was so much fun to eat! Dipping the petals in a delicious dill sauce, scraping the meats out with our teeth(as a kid, this was the best part, we were allowed to eat this dinner with our hands!). The only part I hated about these meals, was the whole eating the heart of the artichoke. To this day, I resist eating this part if I can help it (thankfully, there are always takers!)

For a long time now, I have been trying, desperately, to make the great granola bars. Every time landing flat on my face, making overly sweet, or dry, or sticky and messy batches and batches and batches of granola bars.

But at last, I discovered the flapjack. It is a traditional and simple dessert made in the UK, which consists of oats, golden syrup, and butter. That was the idea that I had been searching for all this time! No flour, no eggs, not cakey, just simple and straight forward. I wanted a healthy and whole solution to breakfast on the go, this idea provided a great base from which I had plenty of room to experiment.

I really wanted for these bars to be as vegetable based as possible, while still healthily indulgent. One of my favorite indulgent ingredients is coconut milk. These granola bars really honour it, it’s buttery texture and taste really replace butter superbly, and it’s exotic flavour really makes it something special. Our love affair began at Clark, when Amri would whip up her rediculously tasty piña coladas from scratch! Remember those?? Yummy.

Alright, time to get cooking!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (400ml) Coconut Milk
  • 4 cups Oats
  • 1 cup Dessicated Coconut
  • 1/2 cup Seed Mix (Pumpkin, sunflower, flax, sesame)
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup pure cane sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 dried ginger

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven at 180C(375F)
  2. Combine the coconut milk, honey, sugar, butter, cinnamon and ginger in a skillet, over medium heat.
  3. When it is simmering, add the oats and cook until all the milk has been absorbed, and the oats have considerably softened.
  4. Add the dessicated coconut and seeds to the oat dough, mix until evenly incorporated. (the dough should be hard, chunky and sticky)
  5. In a well greased baking pan, press down the dough until the surface is even and it is well-packed in all corners and flat at the bottom.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes, until golden brown.
  7. Remove from oven. While still hot, cut the flapjacks into even bar-sized pieces. Leave to cool completely.
    Store in airtight container. (Best when eaten in a week’s time)

Enjoy healthy munching!!

4 thoughts on “Coconut Flapjacks

  1. I just fell inlove! That looks yuuuuumii.. especially cause I looove coconut..!
    btw… you grew up in Belgium? Had no idea…

    1. 🙂 Mais oui ma cherie, Belgique country of Moule et Frites, is where I spent the first 11 years of my life! As for the coconut, if you are into the whole coconut thing, do make sure you make this, it truly is very delicious 😉 you can also drizzle some dark chocolate if you are feeling indulgent

  2. Mati this looks so yummy. I love myself a great granola bar.
    A good friend just gave me a granola bar recipe to try that I have the ingredients ready for! And since it is Memorial Day weekend here.. I will be cooking all weekend long…

Leave a Reply

