Chocolatey Oatmeal Cookies

Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Ingredient, Oats

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Dear Matirulis,

I am sitting at Borders, very close to the food and cooking section.  I love sitting in bookstores to think, read through parts of books, and to talk with friends over coffee.  Unfortunately, I do not do this enough, but the few times a year I do get to do it, I love it.  It happens to be that today there is no electricity (no AC and it is 90°F) in school, and the network is down.  My job is sometimes great like that, where I can pick up and go work from someplace else.  So, I get to sit at Borders and do some work from here. Welcome to the 21st Century:  Free WiFi, remote access to a server, email, connectivity.

So here I am, sitting in a small table at the Borders Cafe and drinking iced coffee. Man its hot out today!

Why are cookies so special and such a wonderful sweet?  They are so fun to make and to eat.  I wish I had one to accompany my coffee.
Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

A few weeks ago, I got an email from Joy the Baker, well not from her directly to me, but you know, in my inbox from her blog, and it was this amazingly sounding recipe of chocolate pecan oatmeal cookies. Y-U-M!  That is all I have to say.  These cookies are AMAZING.  Not too sweet and with so much chocolate you just cannot stop eating one after the other.  I modified the recipe a bit, as I wanted to make them more on the healthy side so I added less sugar…. and they have so much chocolate that 1/2 cup less sugar does not make a difference!

Oatmeal Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies

recipe found on and adapted from www.joythebaker.com

makes a lot of cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups uncooked oats
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 – 1 cup chopped pecans

Directions

  1. Beat the sugar and butter in the bowl of a stand mixer fit with a paddle attachment.  Beat until creamy, about 3 to 4 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition.  Add the vanilla extract and beat until blended.
  2. Whisk together the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.  Add to the butter and egg mixture slowly beating on low speed until just incorporated.  Stir in the chocolate chips and pecans last.Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F for 10 to 13 minutes or until they’ve reached your desired doneness.  I like mine a little underdone and cook them for 10 minutes.  Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.  Or you could just eat them warm.  That’s probably the best idea.  Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

5 thoughts on “Chocolatey Oatmeal Cookies

  1. So, do i have to keep the pecans? or is it ok if I don’t include them.. I’m not a fan 😦 But it sounds amazing otherwise!

  2. No you do not have to add pecans…. but don’t add more chocolate because what the recipe calls for enough. Maybe try adding another nut, or just a little more oats!

  3. Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are one of my favorite cookies to make, and I wanted to share a tip I discovered awhile ago, and just tried this holiday season. The tip came from Cooks Illustrated magazine….They highly recommended using Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips (which I found in my local market) They are AMAZING in the cookies…They’re flatter and seem to spread the chocolate around more….Supposedly the 60% and 40% sugar allows the chocolate flavor to ‘pop’. Needless to say, I’m going to try your recipe with these chips the next time I make the cookies. Love your site :))

    1. I agree with you Annie on the Ghirardelli Chocolate chips. I had some banana chocolate chip cupcakes the other day at a friends house and they were made with Ghiardelli chips and they were FANTASTIC! I will definitely be using them next time!

Leave a Reply

