Lazy Pretty Cupcakes


I have to admit, I was lazy this past Friday.  I made cupcakes but not from scratch, and I decorated them not from scratch.  I am guilty of almost everything that I preach.  Eat healthy, Eat FOOD.  But it was so easy. I also did not have a camera, so all the pictures were taken with my BlackBerry, a phone I hate but has good camera.

We were having some little kids over for dinner and my mom recently got me a book called Fun Stuff Cupcakes and we wanted to try it out so we chose one of the easier ones to do: The Friendly Frogs.  The book is absolutely amazing, you can make very pretty cupcakes for a celebration in very little time.

Very simple to make.

Ingredients

  • 1 package of cake mix (chocolate or vanilla), plus the ingredients to prepare mix.
  • Green food coloring
  • 1 container (16 ounces) of vanilla frosting
  • Green Sparkles
  • Chocolate Chips
  • Small White Marshmallows
  • Zip locks to help decorate

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F and line cupcake tray with paper baking cups.
  2. Prepare cake mix according to package directions and spoon batter into muffin cups, filling two-thirds fill.
  3. Bake cupcakes for 18-22 minutes or until ready and let them cool completely.
  4. Add the green food coloring in a small bowl and mix with the vanilla frosting.  Mix in a few drops at a time until desired shade of green is reached. Leave some frosting white for the mouth.
  5. Once the cupcakes have cooled, you can frost the cupcakes ad sprinkle with the green sugar.
  6. Add a little frosting to one side of the marshmallows and stick a chocolate chip to form the eyes and then place on the cupcake.
  7. The mouth you can form by squeezing the remaining white frosting out of the tip of a zip lock back.
  8. I used frosting from a can, yes kinda gross.

My next adventures in cooking/baking will be 100% natural like my almond butter….I PROMISE!

4 thoughts on “Lazy Pretty Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

