Three-Minute Spelt Bread with Seeds

Bread



Mati,

Life has been good. I have been on vacation so this has given me plenty of time to experiment a lot in the kitchen.  I have also been able to experiment with my camera and I would love some feedback from you and our followers!

Here are is a picture of my chocolate souffle that tasted more like a flour-less chocolate cake.

In order to m

ake up for my last post where everything that I did was from a box, I decided to make bread.  For a while now I have been wanting to make bread that is not Challah.  Been there, done that a few times.  It was time to experiment with something new.  A while ago, I had bought Spelt flour for a Spelt flour with olive oil and rosemary cake I was making and I had a lot left over.  So I contacted my friend over at Qlinaria, because I know that she has had plenty of experience with breads, asking her for Spelt bread recipes.She forwarded me an article from The Telegraph and I decided to finally try it out and modify it a little by adding additional seeds.

This is a very simple bread recipe as all you do is mix up a yeast dough and then bake it without giving it time to rise.  I guess the rising happens in the oven.  And all of our non-metric system followers will like this recipe because it suits (hopefully) all of your needs!

Ingredients

  • 3 cups/1lb 2oz/500g spelt flour
  • 1 pack/10g fast-acting dried yeast
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup/2oz/50g sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup/2oz/50g pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup/2oz/50g fennel seeds
  • 1/4 cup/2oz/50g poppy seeds
  • 1/4 cup/2oz/50g flax seeds
  • 2 cups/7floz/500ml warm water

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 200C/400F.
  2. Combine all the ingredients, adding the water last. Mix well and turn the dough into a greased loaf tin.
  3. Put straight into the oven and bake for an hour.
  4. Remove the loaf, turn it out of the tin and then return it to the oven without the tin for a further 5-10 minutes.

The flavor of the loaf was excellent  I would have added a little more salt just as my personal preference.  In addition, the bread cooked for too long.  At 50 minutes it was already done.  This might have something to do with me living at sea level… or not!  Anyways I would set the timer to 45 minutes and then leave it in the oven without the tin for another 5-10 minutes.  The inside of the bread was fully cooked but the outside toasted a little too much.   And a tip:  I read this week that if you put a piece of celery with your bread, the bread keeps fresh!  We did not have time to try this out because we ate the bread so fast!

3 thoughts on “Three-Minute Spelt Bread with Seeds

  1. Nice!!!! I am apparently not born on the right day for bread making… I endlessly fail:( but this looks easy enough to try out! Can I use any other kind of flour for this? Also, the chocolate souffle looks delicious!!
    My only feedback would be to try and get the lighting consistent… Because it ties the pictures better together, but I really like the bread snaps, first one especially:)

  2. Congatulation Fran, it turned out great and the picture of the loaf is gorgeous. The more seeds, the crunchier the texture right? Gracias y un beso!

Leave a Reply

