Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Truffles

Chocolate, Dairy, Dessert, Ice Cream, Snack

Mati,

I hope that you are having an amazing vacation in the Mediterranean waters! Oh, how I miss the Mediterranean, the beautiful sunrises and sunsets, the warm waters, the beautiful coastlines.  I cannot complain too much  because I do live in Miami on the beach so I get to enjoy the beautiful sunrises every morning.  Every morning I wake up and the first thing I do is look out the window to the ocean.  At 6:45 the sun starts to rise above the horizon and it reflects a beautiful bright orange color over the city that slowly becomes a bright yellow and very warm.  One day I will try to capture this with my camera to share.

You were right,  David Lebovitz’s vanilla ice cream is amazing!  Most of all it was so gratifying to make my own ice cream.  I was also a little nervous as the steps to make it seemed complicated, but thanks to you and your directions I managed to make a spectacular vanilla ice cream with chocolate truffles. We also got to enjoy it with chocolate chip cookies.  I am so proud of myself and we have been enjoying it every night.  There is only a little left and once that is done I will try a different flavor, maybe coffee if A lets me as he is not a big fan.

So as I said, it is really easy to make and as you know how to already, I will tell our readers all about it.

Pick an excellent vanilla bean, not only because they are expensive, but because it is what will give your ice cream the flavor it needs.  When I say an excellent vanilla bean I mean smell it and make sure you love its aroma.

The vanilla ice cream you will make from this recipe is creamy and soft with a heavenly vanilla flavor and aroma.  The chocolate truffles add a a thick warming texture to the ice cream and enrich your experience.   A few months ago I had bought a box of chocolate truffles I had once eaten at my friends house in Boston and they were SO good, but I was not eating them because they were in the refrigerator here because they were melting leaving them on the counter.  Thank goodness to my brilliant idea of mixing them into the ice cream and the chocolate chip cookies I made to go along!

Ingredients

Makes about 1 quart (1L)

Adapted from David Lebovitz

For a richer custard, you can add up to 3 more egg yolks. For a less-rich custard, substitute half-and-half for the heavy cream, realizing that the final texture won’t be as rich or as smooth as if using cream.

1 cup (250ml) whole milk
A pinch of salt
3/4 cup (150g) sugar
1 vanilla bean, split lengthwise
2 cups (500ml) heavy cream
5 large egg yolks
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups of chocolate truffles

Directions

  1. Heat the milk, salt, and sugar in a saucepan. Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the milk with a paring knife, then add the bean pod to the milk. Cover, remove from heat, and infuse for 30 minutes.
  2. To make the ice cream, set up an ice bath by placing a 2-quart (2L) bowl in a larger bowl partially filled with ice and water.  Set a strainer over the top of the smaller bowl and pour the cream into the bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together the egg yolks. Rewarm the milk then slowly pour some of the milk into the yolks, a spoonful at a time making sure you are whisking constantly as you pour.  This process is called pasteurization. Be careful not to scramble the eggs! (If you do, its OK!) Pour the warmed yolks and milk back into the saucepan.
  4. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly and scraping the bottom with a heat-resistant spatula, until the custard thickens enough to coat the spatula.
  5. Strain the custard into the heavy cream and stir over the ice until it is cool, add the vanilla extract, then place in the refrigerator to chill thoroughly, for at least 4 hours but preferably overnight.
  6. Remove the vanilla bean and place the custard in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.  I churned my ice cream for about 25 minutes.
  7. As the ice cream was churning, I added the chocolate truffles into the mixture.

Note: Do not throw away the used vanilla beans as they can be rinsed and dried, then stored in a bin of sugar. That sugar can be used for baking and, of course, for future ice cream making or even to make your own essence of vanilla.

The scrumptious cookie you see in the picture above was a inspired by Joy the Baker. I made them half whole wheat flour, half white flour and I also mixed chocolate chips with my left over truffles.

3 thoughts on “Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Truffles

  1. This is the best news I have heard all day: “There is only a little left and once that is done I will try a different flavor…”

    I love my wife and life!

Leave a Reply

