Radish, Daikon, and Mango Salad

Root Vegetables, Salad, Vegetarian

Dear Mati,

It has not stopped raining here in Miami since last night.  We are currently under Tropical Storm Nichole.  That only gives me more excuses to sneak into the kitchen to prepare lots of fun dishes.

I am really excited about our salad series.  A and I have salad for dinner at home every single night.  It started a couple of years ago while we were living in Boston and it was so hot in the summer in our place that we could not eat anything else.  That being the case, experimenting with different salad styles has been fun.  Not only are we changing around our lettuce, tomato, cucumber, and whatever else we find, but we have gotten to try out a few new combinations of vegetables and we have tried out new vegetables that we had not tried in the past.

This past week we were celebrating the holiday of Sukkot, the Feast of Booths.  During this time it is customary to invite guests to your Sukkah.  The sukkah is intended as a reminiscence of the type of fragile dwellings in which the ancient Israelites dwelt during their 40 years of wandering in the desert after they left Egypt.  It is one of my favorite holidays and when I was living in Jerusalem, I loved walking around town looking at everyone’s Sukkah and listening to people have a good time around the dinner table.  My parents built a Sukkah in their back yard and we had meals with them there a few times.  We were also invited to friends homes for dinner a few times.  Our friend made an amazing Butternut Squash Risotto that I  savor every time I think about it, and I will be making it soon.  I offered to bring a salad as a way to experiment with the salad series.  I made a salad with Radish, Mango, and Daikon.  Last week, my salad also had Daikon and I am completely in love with it.  It has become a part of my groceries list.  The mango in this salad reminded me of when I was a little girl in Colombia.  We used to eat unripe Mango all the time with lime juice and salt.  So this salad really reminded me of those days.  Now it is a competition with A to agree which type of Mango to buy, ripe or unripe.  I vote for both!

Ingredients

  • 1 Unripe Mango, peeled and sliced
  • 6-7 Radishes
  • 1/2 lb of Daikon
  • Lime juice
  • Olive Oil
  • Cilantro
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions

  1. Chop or slice radishes and slice the daikon.
  2. Combine with chopped or sliced unripe (i.e., still crunchy and even green) mango.
  3. Chop up the cilantro and add it to the salad
  4. Season with the juice of one lime, olive oil, salt and pepper.

ps. my pictures are off this time… they are all a little blurry and something happened with my files. Gotta love the computer.


3 thoughts on “Radish, Daikon, and Mango Salad

  1. That looks spectacular! I am a big fan of the unripe mangoes.. they have a crunchy consistency and with lime, salt and pepper they are deelicious!

    Something else that you can try is using green apples in your salad… but they also have to be very unripe.. very green.. they are also yummi with lime salt and pepper!

Leave a Reply

