Five Bean Salad

Appetizer, Beans, Salad, Side Dish

Dear Mati,

I am truly enjoying this salad series, especially because I just started receiving my organic fruit and vegetable share again.  The highlights of this weeks are lots of Zuccini, Kale, Swiss Chard, Kiwi Berries, Figs (so I will be trying your salad), and Heirloom tomatoes.  I can’t wait to use my beautiful share for some amazing and flavorful creations.  I used some of the Zuccini to prepare Zuccini bread that is currently baking in the oven.  I hope it comes out good because it smells very good!

We finally feel that fall is here in Miami and I am very excited about this because I love fall fruits and vegetables, and the weather in Miami this time of year is spectacular.  Temperatures are warm during the day and cool at night, and we can ride our new bikes 🙂 pretty much at anytime of the day.  About two weeks ago we gifted ourselves new road bikes for which we had been shopping for almost a year.  They are so much fun!

A few days ago I prepared a very nutritious, colorful, and protein rich salad suitable for vegetarians.  We were going to a friend’s house for dinner who is a vegetarian and I thought this would be a good addition to the menu.

This salad can be made with any type of beans, I just happened to choose the five featured in this recipe.  You can also limit the number of beans to 3 or 4 and you can add as many vegetables as you want.   You can use beans from a can (like I used) or you can use fresh cooked beans.  The great thing about this salad is that it keeps well in the refrigerator for a few days.

Ingredients

  • Chickpeas
  • Cannellini beans
  • Kidney beans
  • Green beans
  • Yellow wax beans
  • Scallions
  • Red Onion
  • Parsley
  • Olive Oil
  • Juice from one Lime
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Places all your beans in a bowl.
  2. Chop the scallions, red onion, and the parsley and add to the bean mix.
  3. Add Olive Oil and the juice from the lime, salt and pepper.
  4. Enjoy with chips, as a side dish, or an appetizer.

3 thoughts on “Five Bean Salad

Leave a Reply

