parsnips_honeymustard

Candied Honey Mustard Parsnips and Carrots

Hello Franny!

Paris was wonderful, we had a great time with my parents, and there is so much food to talk about, but I will tell you more about that in a next post :)

For now I really wanted to talk to you about a delicious discovery I made in the UK. Parsnips.

They are great, whether they are in soup, mashed or my absolute favorite… roasted! I had never seen parsnips before, let alone eaten them, until I moved here. Throughout the whole year, last year, I kept seeing them in every single food magazine that I would crack open, and was very intrigued.

They look like  carrots, only they are white, taste much sweeter, and are so much softer… as it turns out they are related!

In last year’s Christmas copy of Delicious magazine, they had this delicious recipe for roasted parsnips with maple mustard glaze. As usual I tore out the page and put it away in my “to cook later” binder, which is lucky if it gets opened 2 times a year.

Then about a month ago, I decided to take a good browse through my clippings and found this recipe again! Right then and there, I realized that I needed to organize these recipes better, otherwise other equally delicious recipes were destined to meet the same fate. I would never actually start cooking them. So had a thorough browse online for recipe organization software for Mac and ran into the below article: Recipe Database Article. The final program I went with was Measuring Cup. I love it! It is very simple, you can put photos next to your recipe, and nothing too fussy.

Software installed, recipe transcribed, I went and got some parsnips.

I took the basic recipe and decided to swap honey for the maple syrup, add some dijon mustard to the whole grain mustard, and add some carrots into the mix to add variety to the texture of these sweetly crisp roasted pieces of heaven. In my opinion this is the best solution, because you get the really sweet flavour from the parsnips and the extra little crunch from the carrots. This is another really quick main or side dish, super easy on the wallet, and it is super super delicious!! :)

INGREDIENTS

  • 0.7 kg parsnips
  • 0.7 kg carrots
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp whole grain mustard
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp honey

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat the oven to 200˚C, 180˚C(fan), 400˚F.
  2. Cut parsnips in half lengthways and the carrots in quarters lengthways, and steam for 5 minutes.
  3. Put vegetable oil in a large roasting pan and heat in the oven for 10 minutes.
  4. Remove from the oven and carefully add the parsnips and carrots, taking care not to splash hot liquid, then baste so each is covered in oil. Sprinkle with a little sea salt, then roast in the hot oven for 30 minutes.
  5. Mix wholegrain mustard and maple syrup together in a bowl and brush liberally over the parsnips and carrots. Return to the oven for 5 minutes. Serve immediately.
2 thoughts on “Candied Honey Mustard Parsnips and Carrots

  1. Pingback: Feta And Arepa · Christmas Spiced Orzo Stuffed Mini Pumpkins

Leave a Reply

