Pink Hummus with Beets!

Dip, Middle Eastern

Hi Franchus!

A week later, and I am still feeling the buzz from Valentines day (it always amazes me, how quickly it passes by, in my opinion it should be a week long celebration). So, I got carried away with the idea of making pink foods, once again. I was trying to figure out how to naturally add my favorite magenta colour to foods I eat, and started to browse through our photo gallery on our facebook page. It was then that I remembered the glorious colour of beets! So far we have made some really delicious foods with beetroot: beetroot risotto, cooked beetroot salad, raw yellow beetroot salad.

In the UK it has been very tricky to find raw beetroot. You can find any size cooked beetroot in a tin, in vacuum packed bags, beetroot juice – but raw is another story. When we were still living in Oxford, I had to travel all the way out to a farm to get the real thing!

I was looking to find raw beets so desperately, because I wanted to make beetroot fritters and chocolate beetroot brownies among other things. The idea came to me while flicking through magazines, blogs and the like. These brownies somehow surfaced and they sounded stunning! (Think: carrot cake, zucchini bread! Delicious right?) When I finally got the beets, cleaned them, grated them and added them to a very under-sweetened brownie batter, the result was very odd – to say the least. They were very dense and tough, still under-sweetened (despite the amount of sugar that comes from beets), and tasted very very earthy… almost as if I were eating top notch dirt. Suffice it to say, you are not likely to see the recipe on Feta & Arepa.

This time I decided to really jazz up one of my favorite snacks, and give it a little something to talk about. Hummus, let me please introduce you to Mr. Beetroot. When blended together you will produce a most excellent colour and flavor! The combination of beetroot, pomegranate molasses and sumac takes the whole flavor of the humus to those much closer to the essence of Persian wonders. Injecting the sweet notes from beets, contrasted by the sourness of the pomegranate and sumac, and earthiness of tahini and cumin. I especially recommend this hummus paired with a wafer thin fresh pita, soft velvetiness of cream cheese, and refreshing peppery bite of wild arugula.

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups chickpeas
  • 3 medium sized beetroots (precooked) + juice
  • 3 tbsp tahini
  • 1 lemon’s juice
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tsp dried coriander
  • 1 tbsp sumac
  • 1 1/2 tbsp pomegranate syrup
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • salt & pepper

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place all contents in a blender, and blend until smooth.
  2. Refrigerate for at least half an hour and enjoy! 🙂

If you liked this, you may also love this:

Hummus with Pita

4 thoughts on “Pink Hummus with Beets!

  1. wow wow wow…
    I HAVE TO MUST TO try this…
    I am an eager fan of Hummus and lately have been falling inlove with beets, you couldn’t of made the valentines mood better 🙂
    once again, never the least, I have to complement your picture and your ‘setting’ of the plates… such a pro!

Leave a Reply

