Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

Bananas, Breakfast, cake, Chocolate, Dairy, Dessert, Whole Wheat

Mati those Chocolate Filled Coquembouche look amazing, like a work of art, that I am sure they were! And I love the activity of getting together with some friends to make something for the blog, it sounds like so much fun!  I have to do that here as I have a couple of friends that really enjoy cooking and baking so I might just have to volunteer them sometime soon.

I hope you are enjoying the nicer weather and that you are getting to spend time outdoors!  We have definitely been enjoying the last hot days that we can bear being outside because soon enough it will be so hot and humid that it will be impossible to be outdoors, especially with the bun that is currently cooking in the oven, a.k.a Android currently 36 weeks!

So for a while I have been meaning to post this Banana Chocolate Chip recipe that I got from an instructor of mine at BU.  He calls it banana bread but this is cakey. The recipe is also supposed to make two ‘breads’ but my loaf pans are so big that I always end up making one.  I make this cake every time I accumulate 3 ripe bananas in the freezer (once a banana is black, I freeze it).  It is very easy to make, as long as you have the ingredients at home.  I made a couple of modifications to this recipe.  It originally called for sour cream and since this is not something I have at home, I add plain yogurt instead, and I lowered the sugar quantity to 3/4 cup instead of one and you could probably lower it to 1/2 cup.  I also substituted the regular flour for whole wheat flour. The cake goes great with creamy vanilla ice cream and last week for mothers day we had it with dulce de leche and chocolate ice cream. YUM!

Banana Bread

Makes two breads.

Ingredients

Cake

  • 1/2 cup margarine or butter (at room temp)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Topping

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Beat butter and sugar until well combined (fluffy)
  3. Add eggs and beat for about 2 minutes
  4. Add bananas, yogurt and vanilla and beat for about 2 minutes
  5. Stir in dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt) with a large spoon
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.
  7. Grease two loaf pans, or just one depending on their size.  Mine
  8. Fill each pan about 1/2-way with the batter
  9. Sprinkle 1/2 of the topping on the two loaves (1/4 on each)
  10. Add remaining batter to the loaves
  11. Add remaining topping to the loaves
  12. Bake for 40 min – 1 hour. It will be done when it ‘springs back’ when you press it gently with your finger in the middle and the sides look like they’re coming away from the sides of the pan.

N5FG9VU5JH9D

3 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Cake

  1. looks yammy
    i have done it with white flour i have to try it this way
    some time we have lot’s of Bannas thanks

  2. Just made this, substituting 100% of the flour for oat flour (blended oats to super fine consistency) and it came out AMAZING!!! thanks for the recipe 🙂

  3. I am glad you liked it. It is for sure my go to banana cake recipe. I will for sure try it with the oat flour next time!

Leave a Reply

