Stuffed Eggplants

Hi Mati!

Lately I have been a bit lazy in the kitchen, not preparing too many dishes.  I guess that being on my feet for so many hours at a time is harder or who knows what, but I do hope to get back to the creativity as soon as this little one comes out.  I got a new toy last week, thanks to my sister and brother in-law, a KitchenAid stand mixer that I have yet to use, but I am really excited about.  I will be making some more banana cakes soon, for the baby naming, and hopefully some bread as well so it will come in handy.  And guess what color it is?  GREEN! Off course right?  Some other good news is that my tomato plant is starting to grow tomatoes and I am really excited about it! A few days ago I saw one small tomato and now we have three!

Last week I found baby eggplants at the supermarket and could not resist the urge to get them and figure out what to do with them, and I am a big fan of eggplants, always looking for different ways to prepare them.  I remembered that my aunt uses the baby eggplants a lot for stuffing since they are much friendlier to eat.  So I decided to make stuffed Eggplants.  My grandmother thought that I was crazy when I told her I prepared them saying “OMG they are so much work.”  I did not really think that they were too much work, but maybe that is because I took a long break in between steps because I realized half way that I did not have all the ingredients at home!  So I did a quick run to the market.  In the process I also bought some zucchini to stuff as I was going to have some leftover meat.

Ingredients

  • 6 Baby Eggplants
  • 2 Zucchini
  • 1 lb of ground beef
  • 1/2 cup of rice (uncooked)
  • 1/2 tsp Allspice
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • Handful of dried apricot

Sauce

  • 1 cup of water
  • 3 Tbs of tomato paste
  • 2 Tbs of Uh (tamarind syrup)  You will probably find this in Indian or Middle Eastern Shops
  • Juice of one lime
  • 2 Tbs dried mint
  • Salt and pepper
  • Handful of dried apricot

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F
  2. Cut the ends of the vegetables and scoop out the center, leaving them thick enough inside the skin so that they holds their shape when baked.
  3. Mix the meat, rice, salt, pepper, allspice, cinnamon and water.  Mix well.
  4. Stuff the vegetables with the mixture leaving space for the rice to grow.  Make sure they are not too stuffed.
  5. Place them in an oven proof pyrex.
  6. Mix the sauce ingredients and cover the vegetables with the sauce.
  7. Cover the pyrex with tinfoil and place in the oven to bake for about 1 1/2 hours.

N5FG9VU5JH9D

3 thoughts on “Stuffed Eggplants

Leave a Reply

