Spinach and Zucchini Quiche

Mati,

I have been reading the book Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer and it has me thinking about how I eat, but most importantly about what it is that I am eating. The book is Foer’s quest, as a parent, to make dietary choices for his child. His quest bring him to visit factory farms and to examine the ingredients of the memory filled meals from his childhood. Reading his book has sparked a little of a personal quest and even more a questioning of what I am preparing for my family. Since M was born, A and I have had various conversations of the amounts of meat we eat, of the different types of products we buy (both edible and non-edible), and even discussed what our menus would look like if we ate vegetarian.

Lately I have been obsessed with Quiches. I want to eat, live, and breathe quiches. So I finally made one and OMG it is to lick your fingers and eat the pie all alone in one seating, OK maybe a few but you get the point.  Now I want to make every type of quiche you can imagine, and the best part of it is that its so simple. I made my own quiche crust, which goes along with my thoughts about the book that I am reading.  It is so simple to make my own crust, so why buy and ingest all kinds of horrible ingredients my body does not need?

The crust recipe calls for making it in the food processor but I easily just used my hands and got really in touch with my dough.

Quiche Crust (Pate Brisee)

Taken from Martha Steward.  You can use half the recipe if you only want to add a bottom crust and nothing on top, or you can make the whole recipe and freeze half to use another time.

Ingredients

• 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
• 1 1/4 cups Whole Wheat flour
• 1 1/4 teaspoons salt
• 1 cup (2 sticks) plus 2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
• 1/2 cup ice water

Directions

  1. Pulse flour and salt in a food processor to combine. Add butter, cut into small pieces, and pulse until mixture forms coarse crumbs with some larger pieces remaining, about 10 seconds.
  2. With machine running, add ice water in a slow, steady stream until dough just holds together without being wet or sticky, no longer than 30 seconds.
  3. Divide dough in half; flatten and shape into disks, and wrap each in plastic. Refrigerate at least 1 hour or overnight.

**Note
For the flakiest crust, make sure all ingredients (including the flour) are cold when you begin.

Now for the inside contents of the quiche.  I used spinach and zucchini, but you can really use any veggie that you want.  My pie also dripped in the oven, so next time I will probably add either less veggies to prevent the eggs and milk from overflowing and having a house that smells like burnt egg.

Quiche Ingredients

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Ingredients

  • 1 3-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup half and half (or milk)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 10-ounce package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 1/2 cup grated cheddar (gruyere works well, too)
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 4 to 6 green onions, thinly sliced (1/2 cup finely diced red or white onion or shallots work as well)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425°.
  2. Beat cream cheese in medium bowl until smooth.
  3. Gradually beat in half and half and eggs.
  4. Mix in remaining ingredients and Pour mixture into prepared crust.
  5. Bake until crust is golden brown and filling is set, about 25-30 minutes and cool 10 minutes before serving.

 

Leave a Reply

