Focaccia

Appetizer, Bread, Italian, Side Dish, Vegetarian, Whole Wheat

Hi Mati!  Your tart was sure a success! I still need to try it out but it looks absolutely amazing!  I was invited to celebrate Thanksgiving with my friend over at JewHungry and I was made responsible for the desserts.  Not growing up really celebrating Thanksgiving, living in the US has exposed me to what this holiday is all about and I struggle. It definitely feels like a shopping holiday but throughout conversations with friends and family, I have also realized it is all about the food.  A says that when he was growing up, his aunt would make 12 pies for dessert no matter how many people where invited over for dinner! That is an absurdly amount of food; that is what the holiday is about.  Eating, drinking, and spending time with loved ones thanking for all the greatness we have in life.  SO my desserts.  I ventured over to Smitten Kitchen and made an all american apple pie and a cranberry pecan Frangipane.  OMG the Frangipane was so good I had to make it again the next night for Shabbat dinner.  Where do I get the fresh cranberries you might ask?  Costco, 3 whole pounds of cranberries of which I still have about half sitting in my fridge waiting to get ideas for what to do with them.  I made cranberry sauce and even cranberry oatmeal muffins with white chocolate chips.  They were good.  Here is what is left of them.

And the cranberries….. so tart and I love their color!

As you know,  I have always wanted to perfect my bread making abilities and I have found one recipe which is so easy to make whenever you are in the mood for fresh homemade bread. I have found that one of the keys to making a really good bread is in the flour you use.  Lately I have been using bread flour instead of all purpose flour and there is a difference in the flavor and consistency.  Last night I had made vegetable soup for dinner and decided I also wanted some fresh bread to go along. Focaccia is so easy to make and even customize!  I made mine with Zaatar, but you can add any toping or filling you like.  This recipe is from one of my new favorite blogs, Katherine Martinelli.  She has amazing pictures as well as delicious recipes!  Check it out. In the  meantime, have a great time at home. Happy Holidays and Happy New Year to you and to all our followers!

 Ingredients

  • 3¼ cups bread flour ( I have also combined whole wheat flour into the mixture 50/50)
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1⅓ cups warm tap water
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil (you can also use olive oil)
  • Topping of your choice (I used Zaatar but you can mix in olives, onions, or tomatoes. The list is endless)

Directions

  1. Put the flour, salt, and the active dry yeast in a large mixing bowl and stir well to combine.
  2. Using a wooden spoon, incorporate the canola oil with the warm water.
  3. Knead with your hands for 1 minute, until all ingredients are incorporated but don’t smooth the dough.
  4. Cover with a damp paper towel and let rise for about 45 minutes.
  5. Generously oil a 9- by 12-inch cookie sheet and spread the dough across it.
  6. Cover and let it rise for another 30 minutes.
  7. Preheat the oven to 425F.
  8. Press down the dough yours fingers and top with your favorite toppings
  9. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until golden on top.
  10. Enjoy with Greek yogurt, cheese, dipped in soup, or as a sandwich.
My breakfast this morning, piece with leftover salad from dinner.

4 thoughts on “Focaccia

  1. If I am not wrong you have a nice dinner invitation this Friday December 21st. Maybe you should show up with some freshly baked Focaccia. Just saying 🙂

Leave a Reply

