Carrot and Butternut Squash Soup

Uncategorized

There is nothing better than being on vacation and doing the things that you love to do, especially those that you do not get to spend much time doing while you are working or studying.  I just spent the last month cooking more, working out more, and most importantly spending more time with family and friends.  It is never enough because there are always projects in my to do list but I did get a lot accomplished.  But I have to be honest, despite the good times I had, I had a phenomenal day yesterday when my routine returned and when I sat in my classes truly happy to be doing what I love.  I sure hope that this feeling will continue after this ‘easy’ week of classes.  I spent a lot more time with my son this past month and it was great to bond with him without the rush of “we need to get home now to feed you, bathe you, and put you to sleep after we read one, two, or three books.”  We went swimming, to the playground, had ice cream, and visited his grandparents in Las Vegas for his first experience of cold weather.

Enough philosophy for me for now.  Mati, I hope you guys had a phenomenal vacation and holiday season. I love following Deb Perelman over at Smitten Kitchen, if you don’t know that about me already, and last week she published what looked like an amazing winter soup.  Now, there has been only a slight hint of winter here in Miami this season so there has been almost no need for winter soups, but we still wanted to feel winter inside the house.  We popped open the winter lagers and the scotch bottles and really enjoyed the flavors of this soup.  I did a slight variation of the soup as I did not have all the ingredients in her recipe and because I always like to add my own touch. Instead of garnishing it with chickpeas, I added edamame because that is what I had at home and I did not add the tahini to mine, instead I love adding Greek yogurt to my soups.  Definitely make this soup because the flavors are so rich and intense you will want to make it again the following week just like we did this week already. This week we used acorn squash instead and added all spice instead of the red pepper flakes for a variation to the flavors.

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons (30 ml) olive oil
  • 3 carrots, peeled, diced or thinly sliced
  • 1 small butternut squash
  • 2 celery sticks
  • 1 large onion, or two small, finely chopped
  • 5 small garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt, plus more if needed
  • red pepper flakes
  • 4 cups (945 ml) vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup of edamame for garnish

Directions

  1. Heat two tablespoons olive oil in heavy large pot over medium heat. Add carrots, butternut squash, onion, garlic, coriander, cumin, salt and pepper flakes and sauté for about 15 minutes until the begin to brown.
  2. Heat your oven to 425 degrees F. Toss the edamame with one tablespoon olive oil, salt and cumin until they’re all coated. Spread them on a baking sheet or pan and roast them in the oven until they’re browned and crisp. For about 10 to 20 minutes, tossing them occasionally to make sure they’re toasting evenly.
  3. Once vegetables have begun to brown, add the broth and simmer until carrots and squash are tender, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes.
  4. Puree the soup in a blender or with a hand blender until smooth. Serve and sprinkle with crisped edamame and add the Greek yogurt if you want.

Enjoy and stay warm out there!

One thought on “Carrot and Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

