Coconut Butternut Squash Soup and Choices

Butternut Squash, Carrot, Coconut Milk, Soup, Thai, Vegetarian

It has been a while since I last posted the adventures of my kitchen and I guess I can blame that a little bit on the choices I make and blame myself for not making the choice to cook and blog (brag?) about it. Life is busy and it is not always easy to make the right choices for ourselves Choices are something we all make on a daily basis and they do not come easy.  We start making choices from the second we open our eyes in the morning until we choose to go to bed at night. A couple of weeks ago, A was out of town at the same time as my mom so I invited my dad to come over for a meal. Before leaving the house he told my sister he was coming over and she asked ” what is she making for you?” and he replied “I don’t know, probably something with butternut squash.” Despite that, he chose to get into the car, come and to his surprise, I had a soup with butternut squash.  I have to admit, I have been on a butternut squash craving/obsession lately and it is a staple on my grocery list.  I love it in every way and I am always looking for different recipes for it.; grilled, baked, blended in a soup, or as part of a curry.

A few days after my dad came over for dinner, I was out and about on a Saturday morning with the family and I got an email from him with the subject line that stated: Choices and this is the picture that was attached.

At first I did not see the butternut squash and I thought he was just giving us a hard time for not coming over that morning for breakfast as he was making his amazing Shakshuka, but after looking at the picture for a second time, I realized he was somewhat making fun of me.  He was pretending to have a hard time between choosing a meal with butternut squash and the Shaksuka.  Now, by all means I am not saying that he had to choose whether to come over or not for dinner, that is a given off course he comes because he gets to see his grandson, but I guess I realized that when i invite him over I have to be careful not to always make him butternut squash.  You see, we are constantly making choices about what we eat, who we eat with, what we wear, who our friends our, etc.  We should constantly give gratitude that we are able to make choices in life (event though having too many options can sometimes drive us nuts).

Last week I chose to make a coconut milk butternut squash soup as I was in a mood for curry, but did not have curry paste at home so I came up with this.

Ingredients

  • 1 small butternut squash peeled and cut into small chunks
  • 1 medium sized onion, chopped
  • 3 medium sized carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2-3 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1 Tbs of minced or chopped ginger
  • 1-2 tsp of curry powder
  • 1 can of light coconut milk
  • 4-5 cups of water
  • 1 Tbs of olive oil
  • 1 Tbs of sesame oil
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

  1. Peel dice the onion and ginger and toss into a large soup pot along with the olive oil, and place over a medium heat.
  2. Gently saute for around 10 minutes or until golden and transparent.
  3. Add the butternut squash, carrots, and celery to the pot and stir lightly for about 5 minutes.
  4. Pour in the water and the coconut milk and bring to a boil.
  5. Once the soup has boiled, bring the heat down to simmer, and cook for about 30-35 minutes in low heat.
  6. You can serve it with chopped cilantro or a dollop of Greek yogurt (my choice).
Leave a Reply

