Turkish baked Eggs in Yogurt

Breakfast, Dairy, Eggs, Mediterranean, Turkish, Vegetarian, Yogurt

Hello!

 

I love that you gave it a go and whipped up amazingness without a recipe! Looks very delicious, although, I am a bigger fan of their coconut milk based soups to cut the sourness a bit 🙂

 

On my end, here we are again, talking about my favorite meal of the weekend, brunch! As I shared in my previous post The Brunch Tart, eggs are a staple every Saturday and Sunday at our home.

Over the month of January, our household became extremely close with Turkish culture and Istanbul in particular. J ended up spending all of January there, and I jumped on the opportunity to get to know the neighboring country to my motherland, that I had heard, read and thought so much about. It was absolutely fascinating to be there. The sights, the foods and the influences from Europe and the Middle East are incredibly intriguing. By and large though, Istanbul particularly felt really close to Greece.

One of my particularly favorite things was the food. It is delicious, it is very similar to Greek food yet, it is threaded with more oriental spices and flavors – which add a completely different tone to each bite. As such, last weekend, I was looking for ways to prepare our Sunday brunch eggs using what we had in the fridge which was just eggs and yogurt. As I googled and googled, I came across this recipe. I did not eat this while I was in Turkey, but it seemed simple enough and  given my new love for Turkish food, decided I just had to try it. Verdict?? Total winner!!

The yogurt gives an amazing soft and rich smoothness to the eggs, which when blended with the tangy tomato sauce is DIVINE!!! Also, it is another easy option if you are having friends over for brunch, since you don’t have the stress of frying up everyone’s individual portion.

Turkish Baked Eggs in Yogurt

Serves 3-4

Recipe very slightly adapted from: http://www.lovefood.com/guide/recipes/17118/baked-turkish-eggs-with-yoghurt-and-chilli-recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 1 can of tomatoes (400g)
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 lemon’s juice
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 200 g (1 cup) Greek yogurt
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 4 large eggs

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 220°C/425°F.
  2. Heat olive oil in a frying pan on medium and gently fry until translucent. (I used an oven proof frying pan to minimize the dishes needed to clean afterwards) Add the paprika, cayenne pepper and cumin and saute for 2 minutes until fragrant. Add the tomatoes and bring to the boil. Cook on medium for 5 minutes and then reduce the heat and cook for another 5 minutes, until much of the liquid has evaporated.
  3. Mix the yogurt with the salt, garlic and lemon juice.
  4. Place 6 dollops of the yogurt mixture on top of the tomato and onion sauce. Create 4 craters in the tomato and onion sauce, and break the eggs into each so they are snuggly nestled in the mix and lightly drizzle with olive oil.
  5. Move the pan to the oven and bake for 8 minutes until eggs are cooked. Remove from the oven and serve immediately with fresh bread or pita.

p.s. you can also prepare this in individual ramekins, which will make it much neater to serve 🙂

I have never had Shakhshuka, but I am guessing it is very similar in flavor to this, except swap the yogurt for feta. Enjoy!!

One thought on “Turkish baked Eggs in Yogurt

Leave a Reply

