Butternut Squash Goat Cheese Empanadas and a Challenge

Appetizer, Butternut Squash, Cheese, Dairy, European, Latin American, Party Food, Special Occasion, Vegetarian

Butternut SquasGoatCheese Empanadas5

Being on vacation after being super busy during the school year is refreshing and exciting. I do have to admit that I was/am a little worried about what I am going to keep myself busy during these five weeks. A professor of mine was in shock when I told her I had nothing to do for the next five weeks and she said “read a book, read many books for pleasure. Some of you might think that I am crazy as most would love to  have this much time off to do the things they never get to do. You see, I am a bit of an energizer bunny and I never stop, there is always something that needs to get done mostly because I never have all this free time to just get it all done in about two days. And let’s be honest, we all love vacation but after 5 days don’t we start going a bit nuts?  We are creatures of habit and when habits and routines disappear our bodies go a bit nuts.  As someone that is studying occupational therapy I am forced to think about the roles, habits, routines, and the rituals of individuals within the context of their lives and their occupations. Occupational therapy (OT) is all about restoring function no matter what your current abilities are.  OT’s view people as occupational beings, as intrinsically active and creative, and constantly needing to engage in a balanced range of activities all with the goal of our personal health and wellbeing. We shape and are shaped by our experiences and interactions with others and our environments and I think that this is a big part of what makes us human. By being occupational beings we create our own identity and we transform who we are.

Keeping myself busy is not something that I never think about so as I think on how to best occupy my time during these next five weeks and I developed a list of things do to so that I can cross them out and feel as though my time was productive. This is my challenge for the next 30 days.  We might come up with other challenges as the month goes by.

  • Spending time with my most amazing son that makes me laugh and smile on a daily basis.  During the school year most of our time is spend feeding him (which he is really lazy and makes it not fun at all), bathing and putting him to sleep. We only get to enjoy each other’s company during the weekends. 
  • Spending time with my family–which I never really get to spend quality time with because during the year we are always busy.
  • Reading books for FUN.  I am currently reading the first of a trilogy by Maggie Anton:Rashi’s Daughters, Book I: Joheved: A Novel of Love and the Talmud in Medieval France and I am loving it. I will update more on that as I continue to read
  • Updating the blog–I have spend hours redesigning the site as I thought we needed a fresh look.  What do you all think?
  • Cooking, baking and blogging about it.
  • Working out–I am joining a yoga studio that has a special for new students because why not?
  • Going on vacation at some point.  Our first trip is to Naples, FL in a couple of weeks.  I will let you all know all about that.

Recipe

adapted from Sprouted Kitchen

Makes about 36-40 empanadas

Butternut SquasGoatCheese Empanadas1

Butternut SquasGoatCheese Empanadas1

You can probably use any squash you like but I am a big fan of butternut squash and I though that the sweet squash combined with the goat cheese would be an amazing combo.

Dough: Sprouted Kitched used this recipe, I was lazy and I bought ready made.  I wanted to make sure I could easily make empanadas (or that you too could) and they came out great! If you live in SoFlo, I got the dough at Kosher Kingdom in Aventura.

Filling Ingredients

  • 1 small butternut squash
  • 1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1 yellow onion, finely minced
  • 1 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped green herbs (I used a combination of parsley and thyme)
  • 5 oz. goat cheese (or really any cheese of your choice)
  • egg wash (1 egg and a splash of water, well whisked)
  • sesame seeds to sprinkle on the empanadas

Butternut SquasGoatCheese Empanadas

Directions

    1. Preheat the oven to 425′.
    2. Follow the dough recipe from te link provided.
    3. Cut the squash in half lengthwise and drizzle it with the olive oil. Rub it on the flesh and on the skin and roast for about 45-50 minutes, or until the flesh is very soft.
    4. While the squash is cooking, saute the garlic and the onion in olive oil until browned for about 8-10 minutes.
    5. Once the squash in roasted, remove from the oven and let it cool. Once it is cool, add a pinch of salt, the paprika, the sautéed garlic and onion, and the green herbs. Mash it all together.
    6. Turn the oven down the 350• and prepare a parchment lined baking sheet.
    7. If you made your own dough, roll out the dough to about 1/8” thickness on a floured work surface and press out the circles for your empanadas. You can use 4” cutters for small ones, or 6-8” for a larger size.
    8. To fill the empanadas, leave plenty of space around the edge and put a small spoonful of the squash in the center, followed by one of cheese. Fold the circle over and press the edge with your finger to seal and then press along the edge with the tins of a fork.
    9. Place the empanadas on the baking sheet and brush the tops with the egg wash.
    10. Sprinkle the sesame seeds and bake on the middle rack for 30 minutes or until just golden. Enjoy warm for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Butternut SquasGoatCheese Empanadas4

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Goat Cheese Empanadas and a Challenge

  1. I did try these (provided by the author herself) and have to say that in-spite of the ingredients (butternut squash????) they were actually very tasty and good. I give these a thumbs up!!

  2. I can give you LOTS and LOTS of ideas of how to keep yourself busy. From experience, 5 days off is NOT enough… but im glad that we each function differently… if not it would be a very unbalance world.
    Enjoy your days off and cook some coconut bread for me 🙂
    btw.. new blog looks beautiful!

Leave a Reply

