Plum and Apple Galette: Summer and Fall, all in One

Apple, Dessert, Ice Cream, Plum, Special Occasion

IMG_1000

Not so long ago, I read an blog post on the NYT titled  “The Busy Trap” that describes how our society has fallen into a cycle in which we are constantly ‘busy’ and constantly looking to fill our lives with stuff, with emptiness. The competition to be successful and the rush to have the best and be the best has created a culture in which we do not necessarily prioritize our values and beliefs.  And even worse, when we are asked how we are doing, the only thing way in which we know how to answer is by saying “So Busy!” I have always found it interesting when people respond that because I did not really ask them about their schedule, just how they were feeling and how they were doing. Regardless, lately I find myself answering in similar ways because not only am I swamped with work from grad school but I take have a family, work about 5 hours a week, and I am volunteering for an organization. It makes it seem OK to answer that I am busy, yet I think the answer really needs to be different and I am consciously making the effort to include a positive statement before I say that I am busy.  I like to reply that I am excellent, sad, angry, or any other emotion in addition to the fact that I am busy. The author ends the post by saying that “Life is too short to be busy,” and I could not agree more with that statement. This past year and a half, I have had to make a lot of adjustments in how I prioritize my time and energy leaving the blog and the cooking to the side.  It is not that I am ‘busy,’ but that I am choosing to prioritize my studies and my family.  The blog is not the only thing that has been moved down the list. I no longer have time to work out and do other things that I like, but I make sure to include them somehow, even if they are not everyday or every week. I think that life is just that, a pull and tug between what we want to do and need to do and a challenge to really look inside ourselves and evaluate our values in order be active and participating humans. I dare you to do that.

Later I will tell you more about the raised planter I made today.

planter

IMG_0991 IMG_0989 IMG_0999

IMG_1005So here I am today, taking the time to write and share with you a time I chose to prioritize. I have to admit, I made this galette a while ago. I made my first one ever earlier this summer and I loved it and could not stop thinking about what other ingredients I could make it with. Then, we were invited to our friends for dinner and I took advantage of the opportunity, but made it with mushrooms and blue cheese. I am constantly looking for excuses and new ingredients to make galettes with. I really think that once you master the crust, you can add any filling combination your heart desires. Now that summer is pretty much over anywhere else in the US or UK but Miami, I wanted to share this blended summer and fall galette. Its flavors and colors hint the aromas of fall, yet they remind me of the sunny and water filled summer.

 

Apple and Plum Filled Galette

IMG_1008

Ingredients

For the pastry (this will yield a really large galette, about 12 inches in diameter, I used half of the dough) Yield: 1 12-inch galette

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

For the Dough:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (including 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour if you like), plus more for the work surface
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 16 Tbs (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into
  • pieces
  • 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup ice water

For the filling:

  • 3-4 ripened plums
  • 2-3 apples (green, red, or any variety you like. I like to mix my apples in desserts)
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1tsp Ginger Powder (you can also add some cloves or any other fall spice you love)
  • 1/8 tsp cardamom
  • Squeeze or two of orange or lemon juice

Directions

1. Make pastry: In a bowl, combine the flour and salt. Add the whole sticks of the butter and using your hands or a pastry blender, break up the bits of butter until the texture is like cornmeal, with the biggest bits the size of pebbles.  Ina small bowl, whisk together the Greek yogurt, vinegar, and water, and pour over the butter-flour mixture.  Stir with a rubber spatula until the dough forms; do not overwork the dough. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour or up to 2 days.

2. Mix the fruits together with the sugar, spices, and lemon juice in a bowl.

3. Assemble galette: On a floured work surface, roll the dough out into a 16-17-inch round. Transfer to an ungreased baking sheet. Place the apple and plum mixture over the dough, leaving a 2-to-2 1/2-inch border. Fold the border over leaving the center open.

4. Bake until golden brown, 30 to 40 minutes. Remove from the oven, let stand for 5 minutes, then slide the galette onto a serving plate. Cut into wedges and serve hot, warm or at room temperature with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

IMG_1010

One thought on “Plum and Apple Galette: Summer and Fall, all in One

  1. I liked very much your “insights” in this blog…..
    And yes….it”s important to study, work, call your mom..:) … its nice to have a special dessert for dinner too!!

Leave a Reply

