Mushroom Herb Papardelle

Dairy, Italian, Main Course, Vegetarian



Dear Fran,

In my resolution from previous post to share more of my quick everyday food, I wanted to share with you one of my all time favorite simply delicious foods. Whenever I go to a restaurant and they serve fresh, homemade pasta with creamy mushrooms sauce, you never need to wonder what I will be ordering. (… err, unless there is Truffle Risotto)

So the other day, while we were walking around in the grocery store, my eye fell directly on a pack of fresh made papardelle. They were calling out to me… literally calling my name to take them home with me. So what could I do? Leave them there feeling snobbed?! Nonsense, reached out for them, carefully put them in my basket, grabbed some mushrooms, creme freche, parsley and a bottle of white wine and was on my way to cook a lovely and simple meal.

In this recipe, the mushrooms are cooked alone at first, boiling in their own juices. Allowing their water to evaporate out, only the strongest flavours of the mushrooms is left. The resulting taste they infuse into any sauce, is so much deeper and earthier, less muddled or bland by too much water content.

The greatest thing about this recipe is that the sauce is creamy and rich, but the pasta is delicately kissed by the sauce, not drenched in it. As a result, you do not have a heavy feeling after eating a plate. Also, the lemon juice and zest add a nice fresh after-taste to each bite.

Mushroom Herb Papardelle

This recipe is adapted from: Bowl Food – Tagliatelle with Chicken, Herbs, and Mushrooms

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 500g fresh papardelle (boxed tagliatelle is fine)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 750g (1.5 lb) chestnut mushrooms (sliced)
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 cloves garlic (finely chopped)
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 3/4 cup light creme freche (or light whipping cream)
  • 1 tsp lemon zest (very finely grated)
  • 1 lemon’s juice (2 tbsp)
  • 1 tbsp tarragon
  • 3 tbsp fresh parsley (chopped)
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cook the fresh papardelle until cooked al dente. Drain, to avoid overcooking, and then keep warm.
  2. While pasta is cooking, prepare the sauce: Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a pan. Add the mushrooms to the pan and cook. Let them cook until almost all their own water is evaporated. Add butter and garlic and cook for 2 minutes.
  3. Stir in the wine, reducing the heat and cook until almost evaporated.
  4. Stir in the creme freche and simmer until heated through and evenly spread throughout. Salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Stir in the lemon zest and juice, tarragon, parsley and 2 tbsp parmesan. Adjust seasoning, incorporate the cooked pasta into the sauce, by delicately tossing. Serve in individual portions, and distribute remaining parmesan over each place. ENJOY!!!N5FG9VU5JH9D

3 thoughts on “Mushroom Herb Papardelle

  1. Hi Mati, I made this tonight and it is the best cream-based pasta recipe I have tried. I love the freshness of the citrus flavour. I also appreciate the ‘every-night’ recipes you’re posting.

Leave a comment