Thanksgiving Roundup

Dessert, Special Occasion, Vegetarian

Thanksgiving is just around the corner here in the US and for many this is  a special holiday. Having grown up in Colombia we never really celebrated Thanksgiving, it was just a long weekend break from school because I went to an American school.  I remember learning “Thanksgiving” songs and having an all school assembly where we would sing these so called Thanksgiving songs and give baskets of goods to the school employers. It truly was a thanks giving celebration where we thanked these special individuals for supporting our learning environment.

Now that I live in the US, have an American child, and I am married to an American, I find myself figuring out how we will celebrate this as a family.  I hear stories from A about his Thanksgiving meals growing up and how his aunt would have an endless table of traditional food and countless desserts to enjoy.  I am not a big fan of the traditional meal, but I have started appreciating the holiday and the meaning it has for many.  This year, as many of you know, Thanksgiving is also the first night of Hannukah– aka Thanksgivvukah and many are looking at ways in which to combine the meaning of both holidays. Many are looking at it just as how can we combine them both into one menu, but today I read a great post by Rabbi Sara Tasman that explains how we can really combine and enjoy both holidays (if you celebrate both).  I really enjoyed what she says about what an opportunity we have this year as Jews to think about the world around us and to be grateful about the miracle of life. “On Thanksgiving we are often consumed (with food, our own families, etc). Maybe this is a chance to think about the community around us, to think of others, of the important things that we can do at this time of year.”

So this year on Thanksgiving, Hannukah, and even Christmas later on in December, let’s take some time to reach out into our communities, and think about others and what we can do to help make this world a better place.

On that note, I have not been really investing time into cooking or baking lately as I have been swamped with schoolwork, but I wanted to do a blog roundup with recipes to help you plan your Thanksgiving or Thanksgivvukah menu this year!

Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Hannukah!

Zucchini Fritters

Spiced Pumpkin Apple Crostata

 Caramelized Onion and Pumpkin Tarte Tatin

Butternut Squash, Caramelized Onion and Feta Galette

Sweet Potato Cjalsons

 

One thought on “Thanksgiving Roundup

  1. yes yes I also love the idea of both holidays, In Las Vegas it is winter cold and rainy so it will be fun to sit home with good food . We will miss you xxx & ooo to all
    Ema v’ Abba

Leave a comment